You will be redirected to the page you want to view in  seconds.

Arrow baseball award winners from Clinton Junior High include (from left) Parker Lee, Jake Clarke, Walker Burchfield and Adam Moncure.
Arrow baseball award winners from Clinton Junior High include (from left) Parker Lee, Jake Clarke, Walker Burchfield and Adam Moncure.
Clinton High Junior Varsity award winners include (from left) Dylan Creel, Taylor Williamson and Kyle Singleton.
Clinton High varsity baseball winners include (front, from left) Chandler Williams, Tyler Trussell , and Armani Lewis; and (back, from left) Trace Tyre, Corbin Jamison, and Jonathan Parke.


The Clinton High School baseball team that finished 23-7 and won the district championship was honored recently at Anderson Hall at Mississippi College.

Clinton ran into trouble in the opening round of the playoffs, falling to Columbus in the first two games.

Arrow Booster Club president Hans Horne thanked the coaches, team, Diamond Girls, administration, and parents for a successful season.

Tenth-year Arrow head coach Eddie Lofton thanked the booster club and parents for their support and recapped the successful season.

He thanked his staff, Cody Zumbro, Ron Miller, Jake Parker, Brad Swann, Les Kelly, Jerry Bourne, and Charlie Melton.

“We won the district for the fourth year in a row,” said Lofton. “I am proud of these guys. They met expectations during the regular season. We just fell a little short in the playoffs. But that is baseball. We won the Gulf Shores tournament for the first time in history. Their legacy will be dictated by what they did this year, not by their final two games in the playoffs.”

Megan Woodard and Tammy Foreman, Diamond Girl sponsors, were recognized and all 43 Diamond Girls were given certificates.

Team webmaster Jeff Crowe was recognized as well as statisticians Avery Crowe, Adyson Crowe and Abby Gelston.

Lofton and assistant coaches presented team participation certificates for all players.

Delvan Irwin, team videographer, presented the season highlights video. Lofton also recognized him for years of filming the games and compiling the video.

Eighth- and ninth-grade winners included:
Most Valuable Player, Jake Clarke
Most Outstanding Pitcher, Parker Lee
Best Offensive Player, Adam Moncure
Best Defensive Player, Walker Burchfield

Junior Varsity award winners included:

Most Outstanding Pitcher, Dylan Creel
Best Defensive Player, Taylor Williamson
Best Offensive Player, Kyle Singleton

2014 Varsity award winner included:

•Most Christ-like Award, Staton Todd
•Most Valuable Player Award, Staton Todd
•Best Offensive Player Award, Michael Davis
•Best Defensive Player Award, Michael Davis
•Rookie of the Year Award, Armani Lewis
•Most Improved Player Award, Johnnie Moncure
•Hustle Award, Jonathan Parke
•Arrow Award, Jalyn Baker
•Most Outstanding Pitcher Award, Cartez Posey and Tyler Trussell
•Coaches Award, Chandler Williams
•Sportsmanship Award, Corbin Jamison
•Ron Miller Scholarship, Chandler Williams

Lofton recognized the All District 6A Division 4 players that
Included Jalyn Baker, Michael Davis, Staton Todd, Trace Tyre, Tyler Trussell and Cartez Posey.

Lofton recognized Ron Miller for his dedication and encouragement to the team for many years. Chandler Williams’ essay was read about what Coach Miller meant to him and the team. Lofton and Miller presented Williams the $1,500 scholarship.

Hans Horne was recognized for two years of hard work and service as Booster Club president by Booster Club vice president Lia Williamson.

More In Sports

Real Deals

Flip, shop and save on specials from your favorite retailers in Jackson, MS 39201



ClarionLedger's updates are available on Facebook and Twitter. Don't miss a single headline.